Spandau prison, history and modernity

More than 30 years have passed since the Spandau Prison in West Berlin ceased operations in 1987. A direct participant in those distant events, the former Soviet warder of Spandau prison shares his memories.

The Seven Prisoners of Spandau

According to the verdict of the Nuremberg International Military Tribunal, seven former leaders of the Third Reich served their sentences in this prison, sentenced to various terms of imprisonment:

– Prisoner No. 1 ( Baldur von Schirach )

– former head of the fascist youth movement “Hitler Youth” and Gauleiter of Vienna; sentenced to 20 years in prison, released from prison at the end of his term on 1 October 1966.

– Prisoner No. 2 ( Karl Doenitz )

– former commander of the submarine fleet, commander-in-chief of the German Navy, Hitler’s successor since May 1, 1945; sentenced to 10 years in prison, released from Spandau after the end of his sentence on October 1, 1956.

– Prisoner No. 3 ( Konstantin von Neurath )

– former German Foreign Minister, Imperial Protector of Bohemia and Moravia; sentenced to 15 years in prison, released on health grounds in 1954.

– Prisoner No. 4 ( Erich Raeder )

– former Commander-in-Chief of the German Navy, Admiral-Inspector of the Navy; sentenced to life imprisonment, released from prison on health grounds in 1955.

– Prisoner No. 5 ( Albert Speer )

– former personal architect of Hitler, Minister of Armaments and War Industry of Germany; sentenced to 20 years in prison, released from Spandau after expiration of his sentence on October 1, 1966.

– Prisoner No. 6 ( Walter Funk )

– former adviser to Hitler on economic issues, Minister of Economics, Commissioner General for War Economics of Germany; sentenced to life imprisonment, released on health grounds in 1957.

– Prisoner No. 7 ( Rudolf Hess )

– Hitler’s former deputy for the party; sentenced to life imprisonment, committed suicide in the garden of Spandau Prison on 17 August 1987.

The prisoners were transported to Spandau Prison in July 1947 from Nuremberg by British RAF aircraft. The convicts were transported from the airfield to the prison by bus, accompanied by military guards. In Spandau, the prisoners received their numbers in the order they got off the bus.

From that day on, the prisoners lost their first and last names. For many years they became just prisoners with a number. Addressing prisoners by name was prohibited in Spandau Prison.

 

History of Spandau Prison

The prison building, located in the Spandau district of Berlin, was built between 1878 and 1881. Until 1919, the military disciplinary prison of the Brandenburg region was located here. Then repeat offenders were held in Spandau Prison. During World War II, the building was used as a military pre-trial detention center, as well as a transit point for prisoners sent to concentration camps. It held prisoners of war of various nationalities, as well as Wehrmacht soldiers awaiting the verdict of the tribunal. After the verdict was passed, the prisoners of the Spandau prison were sent either to one of the concentration camps or to execution. Some death sentences were carried out directly in prison.

Since July 1947, seven Nazi war criminals sentenced to various terms of imprisonment by the International Military Tribunal in Nuremberg served their sentences in the prison. The prison became known as the Spandau Allied Prison.

The four-story prison building was cross-shaped and was designed to hold 600-800 prisoners. Prison had 132 solitary confinement cells, 4 punishment cells, 10 general cells for 40 people each. However, since 1947, only the 1st floor and basement were used. The prison area was surrounded by a stone wall about 6 meters high and a fence made of metal mesh. Along the perimeter of the wall there were 6 watchtowers, on which armed sentries were constantly stationed. The prison had only one entrance gate on the Wilhelmstrasse side.

General view of the Spandau prison.

General view of the Spandau prison. The armed guards were located at seven posts: six sentries on the towers and the seventh post at the entrance gate.

 

Management of Spandau Prison

The management of the Spandau Allied Prison was carried out by the prison directorate consisting of four directors, one representative from each of the allied powers – winners in World War II: Great Britain, France, the USSR, and the USA. One of the directors served as the presiding director, changing monthly. The prison management made all decisions unanimously.

External security of the Spandau prison was carried out monthly by military guards from Great Britain (January, May, September), France (February, June, October), the USSR (March, July, November), and the USA (April, August, December). The change of the presiding director and the external security guards took place at 12.00 on the first day of each month.

Internal security of the prison was ensured by 24-hour guards from allied countries. After the only prisoner remained in Spandau prison, the number of guards was reduced. Each of the four countries had five overseers, for a total of 20 people from all over the world. Warders worked constantly. The duty schedule was drawn up in such a way that warders from three countries were simultaneously on duty at three internal posts. One of the guards on duty was the senior one (chief).

The office of the senior duty warder in the cell block of Spandau Prison

The office of the senior duty warder in the cell block of Spandau Prison

Each of the four powers appointed a medical officer to oversee the health of prisoners. Doctors periodically examined the prisoners and prescribed the necessary treatment in agreement.

To work inside and outside the Spandau prison, service personnel were hired from among citizens of UN member countries, except for allied countries and Germany. Service personnel, with the exception of the male nurse, were strictly prohibited from contacting prisoners.

The main costs of maintaining the Spandau Allied Prison were borne by the West Berlin Senate. In recent years, the Senate has annually allocated 500-700 thousand West German marks for the maintenance of the prison, staff and prisoners.

Spandau prison on the map of Berlin

The Spandau Allied Prison was located in the British occupation sector of Berlin (Spandau district, West Berlin) at Wilhelmstrasse 23.

In the fall of 1987, the main prison building and the stone wall were completely destroyed. However, the prison’s service buildings behind the wall along Wilhelmstrasse remained untouched. Today they are used as offices of various companies. A large shopping center with a parking lot was built on the site of the prison itself.

The territory of the former Spandau prison on the Google map of modern Berlin

The territory of the former Spandau prison on the Google map of modern Berlin

During the Cold War years, when official relations between the former allies were very tense, the Spandau prison was a unique place in the world where representatives of the four countries continued to work closely together.

By 1987, Spandau prison played a significant role in global international politics and was of great importance to each of the four victorious countries in World War II. Rudolf Hess has matured a daring plan – to get free, using for this purpose the contradictions between former allies, as well as the peculiar system of relationships that has developed between the prisoner and one of the American warders. On August 17, he tried to realize his plan , but “Mr. Case” intervened and, instead of being released, Hess went to another world. However, the suicide note left by him could shed light on many secrets of the Spandau prison, so the note had to be forged .


1. The Soviet presence in the Spandau Allied Prison.

2. When will Great Britain declassify the “Hess Affair”?


 

Spandau Prison after years

After the death of the last prisoner, the building of the Spandau Allied Prison was destroyed , and in its place a shopping center and a parking lot were built. Today, only centuries-old trees – witnesses of history, some buildings preserved behind the former prison wall, and old photographs on the Internet – remind us of the past. The street and the lamppost that stood at the entrance to the Spandau prison also remained unchanged.

August 1987 Spandau Allied Prison.

1987. View of Spandau Prison

 

2017 Spandau prison stood here 30 years ago.

2017. View of the territory where the Spandau prison was located, after 30 years

 

Spandau 2019

2019. A new building was built at the entrance to Spandau Prison. Nothing reminds us of the old days except the old lamppost

 

For those who are interested in the history of the Spandau prison and the events that took place in it, we recommend reading the book “The Mystery of the Death of Rudolf Hess: The Diary of the Warder of the Spandau Allied Prison.”




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Тюрьма Шпандау, история и современность

 

Семь узников Шпандау

Прошло более 30 лет с тех времён, как в 1987 году прекратила свою деятельность Межсоюзная тюрьма Шпандау (МТШ) в Западном Берлине. По приговору нюрнбергского Международного военного трибунала в этой тюрьме отбывали наказание приговоренные к различным срокам заключения семь бывших руководителей Третьего рейха:

— заключенный №1 (Бальдур фон Ширах)

— бывший руководитель фашистского молодежного движения «Гитлерюгенд» и гауляйтер Вены; приговорен к 20 годам тюремного заключения, освобожден из тюрьмы по истечении срока заключения 1 октября 1966 года.

— заключенный №2 (Карл Дениц)

— бывший командующий подводным флотом, главнокомандующий военно-морским флотом Германии, с 1 мая 1945 года преемник Гитлера; приговорен к 10 годам тюремного заключения, освобожден из Шпандау по истечении срока заключения 1 октября 1956 года.

— заключенный №3 (Константин фон Нейрат)

— бывший министр иностранных дел Германии, имперский протектор Богемии и Моравии; приговорен к 15 годам тюремного заключения, освобожден по состоянию здоровья в 1954 году.

— заключенный №4 (Эрих Редер)

— бывший главнокомандующий военно-морским флотом Германии, адмирал-инспектор военно-морского флота; приговорен к пожизненному тюремному заключению, освобожден из тюрьмы по состоянию здоровья в 1955 году.

— заключенный №5 (Альберт Шпеер)

— бывший личный архитектор Гитлера, министр вооружения и военной промышленности Германии; приговорен к 20 годам тюремного заключения, освобожден из Шпандау по истечении срока заключения 1 октября 1966 года.

— заключенный №6 (Вальтер Функ)

— бывший советник Гитлера по экономическим вопросам, министр экономики, генеральный уполномоченный по военной экономике Германии; приговорен к пожизненному тюремному заключению, освобожден по состоянию здоровья в 1957 году.

— заключенный №7 (Рудольф Гесс)

— бывший заместитель Гитлера по партии; приговорен к пожизненному тюремному заключению, покончил жизнь самоубийством в саду тюрьмы Шпандау 17 августа 1987 года.

Заключенных доставили в тюрьму Шпандау в июле 1947 года из Нюрнберга самолетом британских военно-воздушных сил. С аэродрома в тюрьму осужденных везли на автобусе в сопровождении военной охраны. В Шпандау, в порядке выхода из автобуса, заключённые и получили свои номера.

С этого дня заключенные потеряли свои имя и фамилию. На много лет они стали лишь заключенными с номером. Обращение к заключенным по имени в тюрьме Шпандау было запрещено.

  

История тюрьмы Шпандау

Тюремное здание, расположенное в берлинском районе Шпандау, было сооружено в период с 1878 по 1881 год. До 1919 год здесь размещалась военно-дисциплинарная тюрьма Бранденбургской области. Затем в тюрьме Шпандау содержались преступники-рецидивисты. Во время Второй мировой войны здание использовалось в качестве военной тюрьмы предварительного заключения, а также пересыльного пункта для заключенных, направляемых в концлагеря. В ней содержались военнопленные различных национальностей, а также военнослужащие Вермахта, ожидающие приговора трибунала. После вынесения приговора заключенные тюрьмы Шпандау направлялись либо в один из концлагерей, либо на казнь. Некоторые смертные приговоры приводились в исполнение непосредственно в тюрьме.

С июля 1947 года в тюрьме отбывали наказание семь нацистских военных преступников, осужденных Международным военным трибуналом в Нюрнберге на различные сроки заключения. Тюрьма стала называться Межсоюзная тюрьма Шпандау.

Четырехэтажное здание тюрьмы имело крестообразную форму и было рассчитано на содержание 600-800 заключенных. В тюрьме насчитывалось 132 камеры одиночного заключения, 4 карцера, 10 общих камер на 40 человек каждая. Однако, с 1947 года использовался только 1-й этаж и подвальные помещения. Территория тюрьмы была обнесена каменной стеной высотою около 6 метров и забором из металлической сетки. По периметру стены располагались 6 сторожевых вышек, на которых постоянно находились вооруженные часовые. Тюрьма имела только одни входные ворота со сторон улицы Вильгельмштрассе.

Общий вид на тюрьму Шпандау.

Общий вид на тюрьму Шпандау. Вооруженная охрана располагалась на семи постах: шесть часовых на вышках и седьмой пост у входных ворот.

 

Управление тюрьмой Шпандау

Управление Межсоюзной тюрьмой Шпандау осуществлялось дирекцией тюрьмы в составе четырех директоров, по одному представителю от каждой из союзных держав — победительниц во Второй мировой войне: Великобритании, Франции, СССР, США. Один из директоров являлся председательствующим директором, меняясь ежемесячно. Все решения дирекция тюрьмы принимала единогласно.

Внешнюю охрану тюрьмы Шпандау помесячно несли воинские караулы Великобритании (январь, май, сентябрь), Франции (февраль, июнь, октябрь), СССР (март, июль, ноябрь), США (апрель, август, декабрь). Смена председательствующего директора и караулов наружной охраны происходила в 12.00 первого числа каждого месяца.

Внутренняя охрана тюрьмы обеспечивалась круглосуточным несением дежурства надзирателями стран-союзников. После того, как в тюрьме Шпандау остался единственный заключенный и количество надзирателей было уменьшено, каждое из четырех государств имело по пять надзирателей, итого, 20 человек со всего мира. Надзиратели работали постоянно. График дежурства составлялся таким образом, что на трех внутренних постах одновременно несли дежурство надзиратели от трех стран. Один из смены дежурных надзирателей был старшим.

Тюрьма Шпандау. Кабинет старшего дежурного надзирателя.

Кабинет старшего дежурного надзирателя в камерном блоке тюрьмы Шпандау

Для надзора за состоянием здоровья заключенных каждая из четырех держав назначала офицера-врача. Врачи периодически проводили обследование заключенных, согласованно назначали необходимое лечение.

Для работы внутри и вне территории тюрьмы Шпандау нанимался обслуживающий персонал из числа граждан стран — членов ООН, помимо стран-союзников и Германии. Обслуживающему персоналу, за исключением санитара, категорически запрещались контакты с заключенными.

Основные расходы по содержанию Межсоюзной тюрьмы Шпандау нёс западноберлинский сенат. В последние годы на содержание тюрьмы, персонала и заключенного сенат ежегодно отчислял 500-700 тысяч западногерманских марок.

Тюрьма Шпандау на карте Берлина

Межсоюзная тюрьма Шпандау (МТШ) располагалась в британском оккупационном секторе Берлина (район Шпандау, Западный Берлин) по адресу: ул.Вильгельмштрассе, 23.

Осенью 1987 года основное здание тюрьмы и каменная стена были полностью разрушены. Однако, относящиеся к тюрьме служебные здания за стеной вдоль улицы Вильгельмштрассе остались не тронуты. Сегодня они используются в качестве офисов различных компаний. На месте самой тюрьмы построен большой торговый центр с автомобильной стоянкой.

Территория бывшей тюрьмы Шпандау на Гугл-карте современного Берлина

Территория бывшей тюрьмы Шпандау на Гугл-карте современного Берлина

В годы «холодной войны», когда официальные отношения бывших союзников были очень напряженными, тюрьма Шпандау была уникальным местом в мире, где представители четырех стран продолжали тесно совместно работать.

К 1987 году тюрьма Шпандау играла значительную роль в глобальной международной политике и имела большое значение для каждой из четырех стран-победительниц во Второй мировой войне. У Рудольфа Гесса созрел дерзкий план — выйти на свободу, используя для этого противоречия между бывшими союзниками, а также своеобразную систему взаимоотношений, сложившуюся между заключенным и одним из американских надзирателей. 17 августа он попытался реализовать свой замысел, но вмешался «господин случай» и вместо выхода на свободу Гесс отошел в мир иной. Однако оставленная им предсмертная записка могла пролить свет на многие тайны тюрьмы Шпандау, поэтому записку пришлось подделать.


1. Советское присутствие в Межсоюзной тюрьме Шпандау.

2. Когда Великобритания рассекретит «Дело Гесса»?


Тюрьма Шпандау через года

После смерти последнего узника здание Межсоюзной тюрьмы Шпандау было разрушено, а на его месте построен торговый центр и автомобильная стоянка. О былых временах сегодня напоминают только вековые деревья — свидетели истории, некоторые здания, сохранившиеся за бывшей тюремной стеной, да старые фотографии в мировой сети интернет. Неизменными остались также улица и фонарный столб, стоявший у въезда на территорию тюрьмы Шпандау.

Август 1987 года. Межсоюзная тюрьма Шпандау.
1987 год. Вид на тюрьму Шпандау

 

2017 год. 30 лет назад здесь стояла тюрьма Шпандау.

2017 год. Вид на территорию, где располагалась тюрьма Шпандау, через 30 лет

 

Spandau 2019

2019 год. На месте въезда в тюрьму Шпандау построено новое здание. Ничто больше не напоминает о былых временах, кроме старого фонарного столба

 

 

Для тех, кто интересуется историей тюрьмы Шпандау и событиями, происходившими в ней, рекомендуем прочитать книгу «Тайна смерти Рудольфа Гесса: Дневник надзирателя Межсоюзной тюрьмы Шпандау».




Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *